the journey continues, again: milford sound, queenstown, glaciers…etc.

Friends, speedy content creation is not one of my strengths.

In the interest of finishing what has become a complete albatross of of trip recount, I’m going to give you the quick version: the summary-listed, easy-to-read, 33-Amazing-Pictures-You-MUST-See-From-New-Zealand version.  That’s what we’re all into reading online anyway, right?  So let’s get through this months-old adventure and move on to some newer ones…especially since there’s precious little time left to have them.

Milford Sound.  This is arguably the biggest tourist attraction in the country, but don’t think that diminishes its beauty.  Cruising around the bay is the perfect way to see these towering landforms, and maybe the infamous West Coast rain will hold off long enough for you to get a few good pictures.

Our first look at the morning sun

Our first look at the morning sun driving in

Stream at The Chasm, just a short walk from the road

Stream at The Chasm, just a short walk from the road

Milford Sound proper, and the scene from MANY New Zealand postcards

Milford Sound proper, and the scene from MANY New Zealand postcards

Queenstown.  This city boasts a reputation of Adrenaline Capital of New Zealand, which can perhaps be extended to the entire world.  It’s the native home of bungee jumping, but those looking for a rush have a plethora of options: skydiving, parasailing, whitewater rafting, and mountain biking are all popular.  As for me, I took our two days there as an opportunity to catch up on reading and coffee.

Queenstown against the Remarkables mountains on Lake Wakatipu.

Queenstown against the Remarkables mountains on Lake Wakatipu.

IMG_2636

Walking around, shopping, and drinking espresso: three things I do well.

Glaciers.  After Queenstown were our stops at Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers.  Here, I fulfilled my dream of seeing a glacier in real life before they’re all melted.

Fox Glacier

Fox Glacier

Franz Josef Glacier

Franz Josef Glacier

IMG_2721

Scenic drives for days…literally

West Coast.  We kept heading north up the western side of the island, stopping in Greymouth before again continuing inland.  The highlight of this stop was touring the Monteith’s brewery, and staying in a hostel that had a hot tub in the backyard.

Lots of steps...

Lots of steps…

IMG_2717

Beer making 101

IMG_2718

Bottling

Tramping.  Ending our trip was a final two-day backpacking trip on the Mt Somers track in the Southern Alps.  Snow made the mountains even more beautiful, and the views were fantastic.  However, two seven-hour days on muddy, steep slopes was plenty for me…and by the time I emerged from the bush, I was more than ready to hop on that flight back to Palmy.

Track through the forest

Track through the forest

Close to sunset

Close to sunset

Mountains just look better with snow, huh?

Mountains just look better with snow, huh?

IMG_2783

Contractually obligated picture of myself

If you imagine very long car rides between each of those sections, you’ve got yourself a pretty accurate summary of my trip.  It seems like forever ago, now, but in reality it was just last month.

I’m sitting on a paltry twenty-three days left in New Zealand, a number that gets smaller each morning and brings home ever closer.  Yesterday I had my last class as a sophomore, making me officially halfway (or more) done with college.  Next week is my birthday, making me twenty years old and more of an adult…ish.  I’m not sure if this combination of events feels like change, or progression, or anything at all — but I’m happy with it.

More posts coming; I only have a month left with you as my captive audience!  Thank you to everyone for reading, as always.  Enjoy your burgeoning summer weather…and send some sunny vibes to the chilly Southern Hemisphere, please.

One thought on “the journey continues, again: milford sound, queenstown, glaciers…etc.

Leave a Reply

